Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger unite to form Sahel Alliance for collective defense and assistance.

By | September 17, 2023

The interim president of Mali has signed the Liptako-Gourma Charter with the Heads of State of Burkina Faso and Niger. The charter establishes the Alliance of Sahel States (AES) with the aim of creating a collective defense and mutual assistance system in the Sahel region.

In a significant development for the Sahel region, the interim president of Mali, along with the heads of state of Burkina Faso and Niger, has signed the Liptako-Gourma Charter. This charter establishes the Alliance of Sahel States (AES) with the aim of creating a framework for collective defense and mutual assistance.

Related Post

The signing ceremony took place today, marking a crucial step towards addressing the security challenges faced by the countries in the Sahel region. The AES intends to establish an architecture that will enable the member states to collaborate closely in matters of security and stability.

The Sahel region has been grappling with various security issues, including extremist activities, terrorism, and transnational crimes. The AES is expected to enhance the capacity of the member states to combat these threats effectively through joint operations, intelligence sharing, and coordinated efforts.

The establishment of the AES reflects the commitment of Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger to work together to ensure the safety and well-being of their citizens. By pooling their resources and expertise, the member states aim to strengthen their defense capabilities and improve the security situation in the Sahel region as a whole.

The signing of the Liptako-Gourma Charter is a positive development that highlights the regional cooperation and determination to address the common challenges faced by the Sahel states. It is hoped that the AES will contribute to lasting peace, stability, and development in the region..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *